How long do your SD cards usually last?

I have several Kingston SDHC cards that I've been using continually for over five years (I used CF cards before that) with no problems. They are still going strong, but does there come a time when it's a good idea to replace them just in case?

I had a Transcend go bad after 3 years and maybe 15,000 images. Fortunately the fault manifested itself quite quickyl so I only lost a handful, nothing irreplaceable but it would still read. The lifetime guarantee worked though so I got my money back from the dealer.

Needless to say I changed brands (Sandisk)- I was in Germany so I learnt a bunch of useful words in a hurry that day.

It's my only failure but then I've only ever had about 5 cards in a DSLR so you could call that quite a high failure rate. I'm not sure what my policy is now- 15,000 is way under the expected life, which  must be in the hundreds of thousands.

5 years doesn't sound too early to demote your current ones to spares.

I am an IT guy and I do not trust SD cards any further than I can throw them. 

They definitely do a good job keeping the images for a day of shooting, but by no means I would trust them for backing up or storing pictures over long time . 

I have had several SD cards, also USB sticks that use the same technology, which broke or failed only after a short period of using. 

Currently I use both SD and CF cards, and none of the CF did fail yet, but my trust in them is as high as in SD cards.

The problem with them is that once they are broken, data can usually not be recovered at all. 

For backup purposes all my trust is in normal magnetic disks (external hard drives) , and I usually keep three copies of my data of which one is not in my house.

(this is probably overkill, but fire can be fierce)  

5 minutes ago, arterra said:

SanDisk CF card lasted one month. Chewed on it. Please, don't ask why I did that.

Cheers,

Philippe