Plant ID, please.

Brizbee

Question

Hi.

Need some help identifying this plant. I think it's possibly a variety of Cotoneaster going by the shape of the leaves and the way the berries are presented, though can't be sure. The berries themselves are about 10-12mm in size and the plant was a good 2m at its tallest part. Found it on a new path I had never taken before so have never seen it in flower.

Any help - yes or no - would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Brian.

close-up-showing-open-ended-red-berries-

13 answers to this question

21 hours ago, Tony ALS said:

Hi Brian, I'm no expert but having right clicked on the image and using Google Lens I think you're right.

I have found Google lens to be a great help recently.

Thanks Tony,

I'm a bit old school myself, a pile of books sitting on my desk covering a huge variety of things. Most of the time they give me a definitive answer, and for the rest point me down an avenue to investigate further on the internet.

Really must try this new-fangled technology someday.

Brian.

8 hours ago, Allan Bell said:

I have a few images of Cotoneaster Franchetti, one here in flower  E1773F and another fruiting BWD740. 

Allan

Hi Allan.

Had a look at your images and, although the berries look very similar in shape, the leaves look bigger. However it certainly adds ammunition to the plant being some form of Cotoneaster.

Thanks, Brian.

There were a couple hundred Crows drunk or high on berries from what I assume were Pyrocantha.  Some say the berries ferment after the first frost which is what happened in this case and others say the berries contain hydrogen cyanide which may be mind altering to the birds.  I was trying not to run over any birds that were wandering aimlessly through the streets. It was a hilarious scene.

drunken-crows-feeding-on-pyracantha-berries-in-redwood-city-california-HE7HB8.jpg

23 hours ago, Gorilla Dave said:

It might be a Firethorn aka Pyracantha.