I don’t think there is a good answer to this however.   As a news photographer I have a high spec lightweight laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad X1 6th Gen).  This allows me to file within the hour window from the field.  Sadly it stopped working two weeks ago.  Fortunately I had purchased an extended warranty.  But, due to covid they would not come and repair on site and I had to send it off.  Overall I have lost two weeks work at a key time in UK politics.  

I did have the old laptop as a backup.  But, it is big and painfully slow.  Yesterday I did five covid related stories, but the laptop was so slow I ended up only filing two.  And, the old laptop has stopped working.  

Getting to the point, how do others have a contingency in these situations?  I don’t think I can afford a second high spec laptop just as a spare.

The other minor niggle is that they had to reinstall the SSD so I have lost everything.  I had backed up the photos but it is going to take a lot of work to reinstall Lightroom and, more importantly set up photo mechanic with all the templates, code replacement lists etc that I had set up over the last couple of years to speed up workflow.  At least I have learned to take a copy of these for future failures....,

I use an old lower spec laptop when out on the road, mostly for fear of damage. I use it purely for that though, so I've wiped it and re-installed just the basics that I need for reporting, and I don't save anything on it. That way it's still fast enough for Live News.

• Love 1

5 minutes ago, Avpics said:

I use an old lower spec laptop when out on the road, mostly for fear of damage. I use it purely for that though, so I've wiped it and re-installed just the basics that I need for reporting, and I don't save anything on it. That way it's still fast enough for Live News.

Philip