What does "Processing Failed" mean and how do a delete them?

John Gold

Question

Newbie here.  I passed QC and got approved, but now most images I upload end up as "Processing Failed"  It does not say that they were rejected, only that they failed to process. I admit that I I have a slow internet connection, but I only upload one image at a time and make sure it fully uploads.  Another problem is that all of these "Processing Failed" images are in my submission manager and I can find no way to delete them.  How do a deleted these failed images so I can clean up the manager? 

11 answers to this question

You can search this forum for "Processing failed" in the quotes and that may bring up some answers. Just skimming the results suggests that there might be something irregular about the images, was the jpeg saved correctly for example, but I guess it could be an interrupted upload. Uploading one image at a time seems pretty drastic, does it arrive in the upload screen so that you then click on 'Finish upload'? Perhaps you could give a bit more detail. I can confirm that failed batches remain in your AIM but they are omitted from the download csv should you choose to use that in the future.

Edited by Harry Harrison

I had a series of images fail to upload properly with the 'processing failed' message about a year ago. I eventually traced it to the metadata not being exported with the photos when I created the jpeg from RAW in Lightroom - I had managed to inadvertently untick some box or other in the export process. When I exported them with the metadata the problems was resolved. There may be other causes of the processing failure, but that was mine. As the images never reach QC the failure will not count against you in that respect. 

As Harry says, you can't remove batches from your submission list in AIM, they stay there forever as a reminder of one's fallibility ☹️ 

41 minutes ago, Joseph Clemson said: