<obligatory "I'm new to this" statement goes here>

Can one have too many tags on a submission? I look at the top results for butterfly, for example, and I see maybe 10 tags for the image. I've got a picture of a butterfly and I'm racking my brain to find words to describe the silly thing. I've got some good words in there like the common name and the scientific name of the butterfly. Do I need to cool it and not try to hit my 50 tag limit?

On 25/08/2017 at 20:42, Chris2061 said:

<obligatory "I'm new to this" statement goes here>

Can one have too many tags on a submission? I look at the top results for butterfly, for example, and I see maybe 10 tags for the image. I've got a picture of a butterfly and I'm racking my brain to find words to describe the silly thing. I've got some good words in there like the common name and the scientific name of the butterfly. Do I need to cool it and not try to hit my 50 tag limit?

Don't bother to try and hit 50 tags.

Just tag the image with as many tags as you think fit. If that's only 10 or so then go with that amount.

John.

It's positively advantageous to stay under so that you can batch add in the future because the new AIM doesn't enable you to determine which images in a batch are over-tagged.

Legacy images with more than 50 carried-over tags are still, after 9 months, practically uneditable. It's most annoying.

8 hours ago, Sultanpepa said:

Trying to hit the magic 50 only leads to adding poor tags which will ultimately lower your rank IMHO. I only have one image with 50 tags. But then again tagging is not a strong point for me. :rolleyes:

I agree, but that Green Bar is so enticing I've found myself trying to come up with a few more tags... Not the best way to spend one's time :D

26 minutes ago, Chris2061 said:

So can too many tags hurt? I think most of mine are pretty relevant but a couple might be a bit of a streatch.

No not really, it's not the number it's if the tags are relevant to the image that matters.