File sizes

Hi folks, just had my first photos rejected (new member) I suspect because of the file size i.e. not 17MB or higher. My RAW files of my images are not that size so how do I make jpgs as big as that. I should say that i'm quite new to digital photography ( 1 year) Any advice would be hugely welcome.. Thanks Phil

Yeas, u should mention the reason for rejection ...

Anyway, check your DSLR image size settings ...

Choose RAW+Fine ( the maximum resolution and quality ) ... Beside if your DSLR is 6MP or more ... then it is FINE ...

Besides. watch out from massive cropping ... Cropping a 16MP image massively could end as low as 4MP image resolution which for sure the image will be rejected ...

I am A newbie too, And I wish I made my point clear ...

'soft and lacking definition' ... I think this goes to factors like : Focus, Subject or Camera Motion (shake), massive retouching like Noise Removal if the image are @ High ISO ... Lightening Techniques ... Check the images at 100% from corner to corner ... Try to figure out if the main subject is in FOCUS or not ...

As stated above, 17MB refers to uncompressed size. 12MP x 3 bytes (R, G & B ) = 36MB (>17MB so OK). The compressed jpeg will be much smaller.

Soft or lacking def. is the most common cause of failure, and could be due to camera shake, motion blur, etc. Take no chances with your first four: preferably use a tripod and/or shoot a static subject.

It sometimes can come down to the lens you're using. Lenses are the most important part of the kit. Most DSLRs are fine, but lenses are another story.

I have no experience with the D7100, but I did have the D7000. My lenses were good. Yet with that camera a lot of my images were soft. Loved the color on that camera, though.