Multiple Technical Queries

Hi all,

This is my first post and alas it is a request for support in uploading my first pictures. I have been an amateur photographer since about 1997 but really not fully understood what I was doing until the last 8 years or so. I moved to digital in 2009 somewhat later than many and have taken to the format well being in control of my post production (I never invested in my own development equipment). My camera is a Canon Eos 450D and is on the recommended camera list but this is where my dilemna starts.

Sadly my entire portfolio was shot in JPEG format - albeit fine quality. That said the resultant image in the camera has apparently been sharpened etc due to the settings. I know, stupid setting to leave but lets put that down to my ignorance at the time. Equally the file size per image is around 3-4Mb in size. Upscaling this to the newly required minimum 17Mb, I suspect, my introduce more noise than will permit me to pass muster. Obviously from now on I am shooting in RAW and aiming to upgrade camera and lens etc.

So my first question - is it worth investing time in working on my portfolio of JPEG images and upscaling to pass QC or whould I just write the back catalogue off and start anew? I attach a sample image for your persual and to give an idea of the quality. This should link 1:1 scale. The image has been sharpened and masked with a small amount of noise reduction

15319912387_307880a0b3_o.jpg

Second question is when shooting in RAW and loading into Lightroom the original file size is around 17Mb in RAW and converted it is around 10Mb. This obviously requires some upscaling also and given the sensor and limitations of my camera, despite being listed as suitable for Alamy, would this preclude me from uploading most of my images? Especially those shot in a higher ISO that have been upscaled?

Any and all help or advice most welcome.