Camera Quality

Hi everyone :) I have been using an Olympus Pen mirrorless camera for years, but when I tried to upload some images, I was rejected for not having a good enough camera (maybe it's just out of date). I can't find anything on their site that specifies what quality sensor you should have or what specs your camera should have at all, just an explanation of the different types. Do you have to have a full frame DSLR for this? I am a hobbyist and shoot mostly close up images of wild life but I also enjoy taking photos of the northern lights and the 11,800ish lakes I live near (lots of opportunities for beautiful scenery shots here). I'm not 100% sure I'm down for purchasing a new camera at this very moment, but I'm rather looking for suggestions as to what other people use for these types of shots should I find myself in my local camera shop :) Thanks!

Edited by Kitty1521
add detail

Everyone has their own favorite camera, camera brand.

No you do not need a full frame camera!

For my stock photography I use  a APS-C "crop-sensor" Fujifilm X-T3 camera. I would recommend that you look at Fujifilm as they have several models and good glass to put on them. When looking for a new system/brand to adopt the quality and selection of their lens can be more important than the camera body.

Hope this helps,

• Like 1

I'm a bit surprised that your Olympus Pen images were rejected because of the camera but you don't say which model that you have. You've probably seen Alamy's rough guide to cameras, they say that Micro 4/3 should be OK and in fact some cameras with even smaller sensors get through, though these mainly seem to be from the Sony RX100 range. You don't need full frame.

https://www.alamy.com/blog/alamys-rough-guide-to-digital-cameras