Xkeg4

Question

Help Please,

I'm confused about the rules on car photography. I am a keen car photographer - mostly old cars - and I can see lots of pictures for sale on Alamy but I thought you could not sell images without release - but all the ones I looked at state no release needed ? So can I sell pictures of cars on Alamy - either my own or others I have shot at races or shows ?

Cheers

Martin 

14 answers to this question

What I do for cars or any property without a release is in AIM under the Optional tab mark the question "Is there any property in the image?"  as "Yes".  That will automatically mark and put the image on sale as ""Sell for editorial only".

• Love 1
  • Like 1

On 05/03/2020 at 20:11, Xkeg4 said:

Help Please,

I'm confused about the rules on car photography. I am a keen car photographer - mostly old cars - and I can see lots of pictures for sale on Alamy but I thought you could not sell images without release - but all the ones I looked at state no release needed ? So can I sell pictures of cars on Alamy - either my own or others I have shot at races or shows ?

Cheers

Martin 

Why do you think that pictures of cars need to be released and who do you think could provide those releases - certainly the owners of the car could not unless they have designed and built it themselves? 

• Love 1

Alamy's own guidance has an example image that tells us the truck manufacturer would need to sign a release if not an editorial image. 

"Property is not just limited to buildings, it’s anything identifiable that’s copyrighted/trademarked e.g. logos and branded items. This release must be signed by the property or brand owner."

"In the example below, you’d need a property release from Pepsi and Coca-Cola and the manufacturer of the truck:"

https://www.alamy.com/contributor/how-to-sell-images/model-property-releases-stock-images/?section=7

Edited by Phil

17 hours ago, Phil said: