Adding Keywords

I'm new to the stock photography world, so forgive me if this has been asked before.

I'm lead to understand that if you submit the same photos to multiple stock libraries, you can save a lot of time adding keywords to each site by placing your keywords for that specific photo in the keywords tag box in Lightroom. Apparently, the stock site you are uploading that specific photo to will pick up the keywords and add them automatically, thus saving you a lot of time having to write them out again. I don't have Lightroom, but I have Adobe Bridge. Would the same thing work if you added the keywords in the keywords IPTC core section of Bridge?

• Like 1

Yes is the short answer. Some contributors prefer Bridge as it preserves the keyword order in the metadata whereas Lightroom puts keywords in aphabetical order. However, keyword order has no weight in the Alamy search engine, although keyword proximity might have a minor effect. You might hear otherwise but that is recent and from the horse's mouth, the horse being James Allsworth of Alamy. If you are managing a large image collection, then Lightroom is a lot better than Bridge in terms of metadata management although this is a subject of occasional debate here on the forum.

You have some nice pics there by the way. Best of luck.

Edited by MDM

53 minutes ago, Contemporary Dave said:

I'm new to the stock photography world, so forgive me if this has been asked before.