Do you sell better with royalty free?

lisah2006

Question

I know it's been asked before, but I haven't had a sale in more than a month and I did change some of my photos to Rights Managed so I'm wondering if that might be it. I have been submitting as much as I wanted to this summer. Hopefully I can make up for it in the next couple of months. Not sure the change but I'll keep tweaking things to figure it out. 

12 answers to this question

There are theories pro and con regarding RM vs. RF. I did a "test" about three years ago where I made all my food images RF. At the end of the year, I had just one small sale of tabletop food. Now all my images are RM and I've had three tabletop food sales so far this month. Does that prove anything? I don't believe it does. Bill Brooks in Toronto made all his images RF. Bill is a very good working pro. I'm a retired pro. 

The license type is just one factor in stock. I don't like RF or microstock. I shoot only common-access editorial stock. I concentrate on producing quality images. The rest is up to Alamy and the gods of chance. 

Edo

• Love 1

Changing your images to RM probably isn't the culprit. Alamy doesn't really differentiate much between RM and RF. Custom, hybrid licenses seem to be their strong point. The few RF sales that I've had on Alamy don't look much different from RM ones when it comes to licensing terms. Also, the days of getting better prices for RF images are over. Microstock agencies have made sure of that.

Edited by John Mitchell
  • Like 2

I don’t think that RF sells better than RM.

Like John says RF images aren’t better price than RM these days.

My RF sales is only 5% of the whole sales. ( RF images is 10% of my whole photo collection, when it comes to number.)

Now I’m thinking of changing my RF to RM.