Hi -

I am new to Alamy. I submitted 3 photos (as you are required to) and these failed to process (not that I was notified). I tracked it down to one image which was missing meta data, and re-uploaded.

2nd submission failed as the same image which caused failure to process, was rejected as 'too much noise'. So I removed the noise, being careful not to overdo it (with nearly 30 years Photoshop experience, I was even suspecting it wouldn't be enough), and re-submitted.

The third submission failed as 'Soft or lacking definition'. Now, I'm not a professional photographer, and I'm sure there are similar, better shot images out there,  but this is a massive swing in the other direction, with just a little bit of noise removal.

So this appears to be a slow death by QC algorithm. Or do they actually use human beings? If I resubmit with even less noise removal, I suspect it will probably be rejected again on grounds of "too much noise". Trying to find the mid-point of success in such a fine level of pixel definition could take years.

I'll try to upload two examples at 100% to show what I mean. It's not a huge amount of noise removal, and I made sure details areas were untouched completely, applying it just to the out of focus backgrounds.

I'm going to reduce the 'noise removal' by 50% and see where the AI (or person!) goes next. My theory is that there is no buffer space between 'too noisy' and 'too soft' in certain types of image which include a lot of intentional out of focus areas, and any automated QC will just swing wildly between the two.

Note: I can't upload an example - the upload button specifies "existing content" or url, but I can't create 'existing content' anywhere, there's no link/section/guides/answers.

Surely in a forum you should just be able to upload an image?

E.