Collections in lightroom

I'm pretty new to lightroom and wondering how to structure collections within my catalogue so I can keep a clear record of which images I have sent to which agency

Wondered how others do this, do you for example have a different collection for each agency?

Thanks

I have a collection set for each agency. Within each agency set I have sub-collections for Submitted, Accepted, Rejected and Not Submitted. The Not Submitted collection is for those images which are candidates for that agency, but I've decided not to submit for one reason or another - it simply reminds me that I made that non-submission decision and that I didn't simply forget to submit that particular image.

I keyword the images themselves - for example,  images that I have had accepted with Alamy are keyworded "Alamy". Then it is a simple matter of making a Smart Collection based on the keyword "Alamy". Images that are cleaned and ready for submission I keyword "submit". I also use the labels as RedSnapper has just suggested so I can see them easily and in case I make a mistake it is easy to find it. The advantage of using keywords is that they stay permanently with the images - they are not Lightroom or Adobe specific should I ever change to different imaging software such as Aperture (unlikely I admit).

I keyword the images themselves - for example,  images that I have had accepted with Alamy are keyworded "Alamy". Then it is a simple matter of making a Smart Collection based on the keyword "Alamy". Images that are cleaned and ready for submission I keyword "submit". I also use the labels as RedSnapper has just suggested so I can see them easily and in case I make a mistake it is easy to find it. The advantage of using keywords is that they stay permanently with the images - they are not Lightroom or Adobe specific should I ever change to different imaging software such as Aperture (unlikely I admit).

+1