Yashica mat 124g - which film, and where to process?

Hello Gang.

I am soon to be in possession of a Yashica Mat 124g .

I want to shoot in colour, but I am not sure which film to buy. 

I'm a beginner, so will be having it processed in a lab - I'm in London, is there a decent place to take my film to be developed?

Many thanks - cant wait to get started.

DJ

I took a look at your photos and was very intrigued by MF0754. Little children almost hidden in the trunk of an absolutely enormous tree. Your caption is just Sicily. No mention of the children in the keywords. Maybe this is some famous tree or trees but I know nothing about it and I think you  could do better with the caption and keywords. I love the image.

Paulette

You don't say if you plan to shoot negatives or transparencies so here are a couple of suggestions for each.

Do you have a good exposure meter?

Colour negative
Kodak Portra: normal saturation.
https://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/colour_print__slide/kodak_portra_160_120_roll_film_5_pack/14811_p.html

Kodak Ektar: high colour saturation, requires accurate exposure.
https://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/colour_print__slide/kodak_ektar_100_120_roll_film_5_pack/19796_p.html

These emulsions are optimised for scanning, which might be handy if you want to submit images to Alamy. Some colour negative films give very grainy results on desktop scanners. 

Colour transparency
Fuji Provia 100f. Good general purpose transparency film. 
https://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/colour_print__slide/fujifilm_provia_100f_120_roll_film_5_pack/13677_p.html

Fuji Velvia 50: high colour saturation, good for landscapes. Requires very accurate exposure. 
https://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/colour_print__slide/fujifilm_velvia_50_120_roll_film_5_pack/13689_p.html

For processing, I have found Peak Imaging in Sheffield to be very reliable
https://peak-imaging.com/about/film.processing

I hope this helps. Good luck.

The Yas124 is more antiquated then film itself.....