I have decided to redo my website entirely. I have done extensive research (including an old thread on Alamy, but things change all the time) and have a list of dos and don'ts (don't use templates, etc).

What I expect from my website is not to sell anything from it but to be a showcase of my work, pointing to Alamy and other places.

I have never done a website before and do not know HTML but am willing to learn. I used to work in IT, so it should not be insurmountable.

I have done the detailed design but beyond that, am not sure where to start.

I am also based in Australia, for now at least, if it makes a difference.

Any tip you could give me?

Thanks in advance.

For some reason you may have decided not to use templates, though there are excellent photo-portfolio templates available both for Wordpress & open-HTML web interfaces. The big gain with the modern-day templates is that they are pre-customized to show up well on all screens - PC, laptop, tablet & mobile phone. Even if your are doing your web site yourself, please ensure the site's compatibility in various viewing devices, especially the drop-down menus can be fairly troublesome with tablets, especially iPad. It is always pleasing to the eye to see lavish photo-spreads (full HD - 1920 x 1080), though these should carry well-placed but unobtrusive watermarks, and obviously these big images may be prepared in a suitable web palette for quick loading. Even if you don't intend selling images directly, you may think of incorporating a contact form for instant communication. Of course the need for SEO work cannot simply be overemphasized. Cheers & best of luck.

Thank you Kumar. I have a very precise idea of what I would like for each page, I am very fussy.

That's why I think I might not be able to tweak templates enough for my visualised design.

Your argument about various device displays already set up, combined with my lack of technical knowledge, might compel me to investigate them though.