Insect experts help ID please

I am not sure if it is a bee. The rear body looks quite flat which I think is indicative of a hornet.

I am no expert though.

Allan

Looks like a hoverfly to me. There are many varieties (subspecies?) that look different from each other depending on the country/location. The ones I see are smaller than a honeybee, with a flattened abdomen.

I don't think it is a hover fly, although I won't discount it completely. I took some photos of a hover fly during the same session.

It's behaviour didn't suggest hover fly either.  Sweat bee looks like a good shout.

hover-fly-feeding-on-a-bright-yellow-cor

Looks like a hoverfly to me. There are many varieties (subspecies?) that look different from each other depending on the country/location. The ones I see are smaller than a honeybee, with a flattened abdomen.

Don't hover flies have flatter eyes than bees? They kinda look like tiny Hummers.

I photographed what I thought was a bee the other day and discovered that it was really a hover/drone fly. There certainly are a bewildering number of different types of flies, plus to make matters worse, some have apparently mimicked the looks of bees (and vice versa). Mother Nature can be very crafty indeed.

It's easy to tell bees from hoverflies.  Bees have longer, segmented antennae, hoverflies, even the bee mimic hoverflies, have short, stubby antennae.

Lasioglossum calceatum - a sweat bee - long antennae

male-sweat-bee-lasioglossum-calceatum-fe

Melanostoma scalare, a wasp mimic hoverfly.  Short, club like antennae.

female-of-the-small-uk-hoverfly-melanost

It's easy to tell bees from hoverflies.  Bees have longer, segmented antennae, hoverflies, even the bee mimic hoverflies, have short, stubby antennae.

Thanks for the hoverfly lesson. Very helpful. Fly eyes also look different to me, not quite as bulbous as bees' eyes, with a flat part at the top.