Reportage/street photography

Pawel Piotr

Hi, 

I am thinking to become more diverse in my photography. I have many years of experience of studio stills and fashion photography. I find myself well in landscape and architecture photography  but I have never done any reportage or a street photography. Always thought it's not too creative.

With years started to be fascinated with Magnum photographers to the level that I want to try it. I live in Greater London and it is an ideal base to do a reportage (in this city there is always something going on). 

Thinking to buy tele lens for my Nikon. For a start a zoom 70-200mm or prime 300mm? Which you think would be better? Any suggestion? 

What else I should mind for a start? I guess I don't need a releases if I upload these imagery for editorial use only? 

Any advice welcome

Pawel

1 hour ago, Pawel Piotr said:

Hi, 

I am thinking to become more diverse in my photography. I have many years of experience of studio stills and fashion photography. I find myself well in landscape and architecture photography  but I have never done any reportage or a street photography. Always thought it's not too creative.

With years started to be fascinated with Magnum photographers to the level that I want to try it. I live in Greater London and it is an ideal base to do a reportage (in this city there is always something going on). 

Thinking to buy tele lens for my Nikon. For a start a zoom 70-200mm or prime 300mm? Which you think would be better? Any suggestion? 

What else I should mind for a start? I guess I don't need a releases if I upload these imagery for editorial use only? 

Any advice welcome

Pawel

Most of the street photographers with Alamy don,t use long range telephoto lenses as it appears you are being furtive and could cause concerns in the general public. This could lead to the photographer being attacked or at least his equipment being trashed by the aggrieved joe public.