shooting baby chicks (with camera) - focus issues

CrowingHen

I'm having trouble with my baby chick photos and wondering if you can offer some suggestions.  I don't know if it's a problem focusing or a problem with the shutter speed, or some other problem.  

The camera on the beanbag with the button on a cord so the camera stays still.  I set it on manual with the graph thingy (can you tell, I'm still learning?) mostly off to the white side because on auto/p/Av/Tv it makes the white look grey.  I had to set the ISO at 200 to get the shutter speed up to 1/60 and the lowest aperture on this lens at this focal length is f8.  Here's an unedited (except to turn it into jpeg)

focus-question.JPG

45mm

1/60

f8

200ISO

I'm not happy with the 'white' of the background but I hope I can fix that in post somehow.  The focus is on the face of the left one which isn't in focus.

Most of them are out of focus or too soft.  I tried the 22mm lens (crop factor 1.6) at f4 and these were worse but this lens is slower to focus.  I tried the face tracker focus (apparently chickens don't have faces) and the touch the screen where I want it to focus (spot).  I'm half pressing the shutter, then taking the shot when it says it's focused.

I don't know what to try next.  I'm getting really frustrated as I only have about 12 more hours before the chicks refuse to stay still.

(also, I want to find out how to make catch light in their eyes, but first the focus issues)