Scanner

Betty LaRue

17 answers to this question

It's going to depend what you want to use it for but it's quite old now and was pitched below the V700 & V750 flatbeds which have now morphed into the V800 & V850. I would say that despite the claimed resolution none are very good for 35mm because of their flatbed design. May possibly be just about  OK for the archive route here but I've no experience with either the scanner or the archive route.

Good results seem to be possible from medium format film from the V700/750/800/850, especially with the fluid mount accessory but I don't think that works for the V600 and is any case  time-consuming and somewhat messy. Here is a comprehensive review from 2009, I quite like the introduction:

https://www.imaging-resource.com/SCAN/V600/V600.HTM

I used an Epson scanner to scan medium format transparencies for a photographer I worked for and there was a lot of cleaning up to do despite excellent prep. I then tried to to scan some of my 35mm negatives and couldn't get anywhere near the resolution stated. I used a Nikon negative scanner when I was taking a class and that was much better. Flatbed scanners really aren't worthwhile for 35mm negatives. Somewhat better with the handful of 35mm slides I had but nothing that would pass QC. 

Another review, but this time they test the actual resolution with the industry standard USAF test chart:

https://www.filmscanner.info/en/EpsonPerfectionV600Photo.html

So it seems it only achieves an actual resolution of 1560 ppi, which isn't a lot of good for medium format and for 35mm you're looking at only 2250 x 1500 'quality' pixels from 35mm.

They also test the V700, V750 & V850 and these all do better but not by much, all giving 2300 ppi, so more or less 3300 x 2200 px from 35mm.

What they are saying here is that although you can set it to scan at 6400 ppi it just takes longer, produces a bigger file but yields no extra detail than it would at lower resolutions.