To photoshop or not to photoshop

Just wondering when its right to edit/not edit?

When do people edit? Is it to draw out a particular effect? To improve an element of the image (exposure, clarity, reduce the shadows, increase the contrast in isolation)?

I only ask due to my inexperience with editing software. Its been partly due to my purist perspective of 'get it right on camera' as well as always being desperate to upload post-haste.

I'm no expert either and whilst I agree with 'get it right in camera' there is always a tweak or two that will improve an image. If the image is well exposed to start with, I tend to use Lightroom lens correction, remove chromatic aberration, image straightening (if necessary) and adjustments to highlights and shadows. Maybe a small contrast adjustment or possibly a touch of clarity adjustment.

There are people who are masters of editing and who can really make fantastic images, but it takes a lot of practice and time and, on top of the time needed for key wording, I would argue that it's not really worth the effort for the relatively small rewards to be gained from stock photography.

As Philippe alluded to, the camera does not get it right, despite your best efforts.

Photographers have had to post process images since the technology was invented. While you should strive to get the best possible result in camera, (I typically take several shots before being satisfied with the exposure) there are very few images that can't be improved (made more realistic and/or saleable) by further work. 

Shoot in raw, modify colour balance and exposure, if necessary, in conversion, then go to town using Photoshop. Lightroom is improving all the while but I still need PS to provide a finished product.

Lightroom auto tone usually suits me. I also have a preset for CA, clarity and vibrance. I also put in a bit of luminance NR in case I forget later. Then whatever an image needs