Professional Photographer Magazine Ceasing Publication

Martin P Wilson

I have just received an email from Archant (I used to be a subscriber to Professional Photographer as part of payment for an article but I didn't renew) which starts with:

Sadly, we've taken the difficult decision to cease publication of Photography Monthly and Professional Photographer magazines.

The rest was about the alternatives for subscribers.

Its a pity but PP had seemed to be struggling for a year or two. So more print titles fall by the wayside but the UK market is probably over-served by newsstand photo magazines especially now so many people are using phones. It will be interestiong to see if any others follow suit - most seem to be similar and stuffed with listing adverts by the major dealers who must also be feeling the pinch if they are not selling pallet loads of compact cameras etc. Surely there is a limit to how many dslr dealers the country can support?

Might it also mean that there will be fewer camera users seeking to earn pin money or the ego trip of publication? Might the stock photography market be splitting into two (or 3 with video) markets. Might high-end stills just be beginning to move back to a more niche offering albeit with a smaller market (at least while the smartphone look fad works its way out). One can hope ;)

I quite my subscription two or three years ago because I noticed they were sourcing images without paying for them (taking them from folks that were more interested in having their work published as opposed to being actually paid for it) and when they weren't paying for images, they were sourcing them from Veer for pennies.

When I resigned my subscription I was very clear about why.

Quite a few PDF and online versions of photography publications. I get the monthly email when their new issues are ready.Also,excellent websites and forums.So anything they are publishing tech related is old news for print by the time it comes out.