Does a poster depicting a person count as a person ?

Martyn

Question

I recently borrowed a Nikon DF from a neighbour and did some self portraits to see how the camera performed ( I'm very impressed with the results ! ) and the self portraits were myself standing next to and looking at an election candidates poster on a lamp post ... I've just annotated these and for the question regarding having a model release, I've answered no as I'm assuming that the face on the poster counts as a person ? I've added in the information box that there is a release for me but not the person on the poster ... I presume that a model release would be required for the person on the poster ? !

23 answers to this question

1 hour ago, Martyn said:

I presume that a model release would be required for the person on the poster ? !

I'm no expert but I would say no, it's not a person.  But you should select 'Yes' to 'Is there any propery in the image' and 'No' to 'Do you have a signed release...'

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Vincent Lowe said:

I'm no expert but I would say no, it's not a person.  But you should select 'Yes' to 'Is there any propery in the image' and 'No' to 'Do you have a signed release...'

Yes, that's what I've done as there are also out of focus houses in the background so best to play safe !

Alamy do treat images differently depending upon whether you have actually stated that there is no property and no people in the optional tab, or whether you have not done so, even though to the client there is no difference at all in what they see. The only detectable difference is that images where you have declared that there is no property and no people will automatically go into the 'Vital' creative collection, if you haven't done so they always stay in Uncut.  It is I suppose just possible that, should there be an issue, the fact that you have declared that there is no property and no people may haver other ramifications. Who knows.

• Like 1