Affinity or PS Elements?

I'd like to upgrade my ageing version of PS Elements (PSE), and I'm wondering if the less expensive Affinity Photo software (currently only $35 CAN) might be a better choice. Any thoughts on this from those familiar with both programs? Currently, I use Capture One Express for Sony for RAW processing and PSE for basic tweaking like dust removal and resizing. Affinity sounds much more versatile than Elements. However, is Affinity just as good as PSE  for mundane tasks?

Edited by John Mitchell

I have been using Affinity for a few years and this is how it works for me. When I open up my Nikon Raw images it goes into the Develop Persona which has limited options for processing plus a Metadata feature. When you are finished you then you click on Develop button and this puts it in the Photo Persona where there are more options for processing. As my computer is old it can take up to 25 seconds to Develop the image. It has a blemish removal tool for dust bunnies and the usual brush tools plus presents for exposure, contrast etc plus you can create your own presets. To resize an image is not like Adobe. You have to go into Documents, click on Resize Document and type in what size you want and it is done very quickly.. To export the image you have the usual options jpeg, tiff etc. It has a very good stitching feature for panos and a good focus stacking feature.

I strongly recommend that for $35 you will not find a better deal. Beware that they have released software  update 1.9.1  and there are problems with it so if you do buy..get download 1.9

I hope I have answered some of you questions, if you have any more please ask.