Thumbnail display

Hi

I have been using an iMac for a few months now.  I used to use a PC prior to that.

When I view my recently uploaded images on Alamy on my PC monitor (used to be calibrated regularly), they appear to be much darker and more contrasty than my intention.  Is this a common problem/issue with iMac?  Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

I am also curious about how my images appear on other people's monitors.  Can anyone spare a minute or so to look through my images and make a comment in terms of brightness and contrast?  The first few pages (120 images on a page) are done with iMac.

Sung

I recall David K saying on the old forum that iMac screens are too bright even at their darkest setting. If your screen is too bright, then your images would appear dark on a well-calibrated monitor. I'm using a dual monitor setup with a Mac Pro. One of the monitors is an ageing 21-inch Apple with the brightness turned down as low as possible and gamma as high as possible in order to match my other monitor. Your Alamy images look slightly too dark to me as if the histogram has moved to the left but they are not too contrasty to my eye - the highlights appear a bit muted in fact - but not a lot overall and they probably look normal on many monitors. I would suggest checking the histograms in the first place to see if you are hitting the highlights.