Latest Alamy annual financial statement (2015) now available

Alamy's latest financial statement is available on-line here (scroll down page and click view pdf).

I'm not an expert at balance sheets, but I think it shows that life in the stock industry is pretty hard going with declining revenues per image (no surprises there!). Nevertheless they still made a profit, but a bit smaller than last year, even with a larger portfolio. Currency fluctuations may have had quite an effect.

Anyone else have any comments?

The first page of the accounts refers to the costs incurred to Alamy by currency fluctuations and the way they try to hedge against such fluctuations. Given that this set of accounts refers to 2015, I can't help but wonder how the current plummeting value of the pound against the dollar is going to affect Alamy. On the face of things, it seems like good news for UK contributors as our payments in dollars translates to more pounds in our pockets. Is this tempered though if Alamy finds trading more difficult under the circumstances brought about by the Brexit vote?  I really don't know enough about these issues to understand properly and would be interested in hearing the analysis of anyone who does understand these things.

The accounts also sets in sharp relief the extent of Alamy's growth in library size. They reported having 66 million images at the end of 2015, up by 13 million on the previous year. The current library is just shy of 91 million images - adding 25 million images in less than 12 months -WOW.

I too would be  interested in what further insights into the company can be gleaned by those who have the ability to interpret company accounts such as these.

We get more pounds, but fewer dollars are billed, so there's no advantage, except for billings during the period when the collapse was actually happening.