Hi guys,

I'm new to Alamy and trying to post some landscape pictures for a QC approval.

One of the images is an unmodified OOC JPEG from my Fuji X-T1. To my surprise it got rejected due to "compression artefacts".

It was shot at the "fine" setting, which is the best setting the camera offers.

Could someone please help me to understand what is wrong and how to get better JPEGs out of the X-T1.

Is this something Fuji should be aware of to improve their JPEG engine?

The reason I'm shooting OOC JPEGs is the awesome film simulation feature Fuji has.

Thanks a lot

Petr

I shoot "fine" JPEGs with an X-E1, so the files are similar. Everything is at default settings except for sharpness at -1. Files are opened in Silkypix 6, which allows treating JPEGs as raw files. Film simulation is added there, along with a minimal amount of sharpness. Everything done this way has cleared QC so far (knock on wood). By layering and erasing I can have Astia skin tones in a Velvia environment. I also like increasing dynamic range in post as opposed to the in-camera version.

I shoot RAW and if I want the film look I apply it in lightroom or Photoshop.

Me too. I sometimes shoot Fine+RAW if I need images for immediate news submission or to get a sense of what the result will look like (in the viewfinder), especially if I might want monchrome. Then I still have full colour RAW data to process either way. I tend to exclude the JPGs from my catalogue.

I started out shooting RAW because of habits held over from previous camera. However, although CA is no problem I found PF in some contrasty files that I couldn't get rid of in post without a lot of hand work. Somehow, Fuji's JPEG files don't have it, comparing with RAW files of the same images. I don't submit OOC JPEGs, but after tweaking in Silkypix I find them pretty much equal to what is possible from RAW, and better with respect to PF.