New Looking for Feedback

I'm new to stock photography and looking for advice on how to improve my pictures so I can pass QC!

These two were rejected for being soft or lacking definition: https://drive.google.com/file/d/12TXXRVwnB4G0ufKGWS3jBhZNFrnMRm6C/view?usp=drive_link and https://drive.google.com/file/d/1kaDnGNpFPnUO9p5sryPzcjJGUtC3dxL0/view?usp=drive_link

Taken with a Canon EOS Rebel T7 - how can I make my images sharper? Thank you!

Hi Zander,

If you go back to Google Drive, you can create a link with public access to all and reshare. Welcome to Alamy.

Steve

Make sure that for the first images you submit, all of your subject is sharp.

So you must also think of what your subject is. Is it the whole plant or just a spine.

Quality Control has stated often enough that in general a client should get what he/she expects to get looking at the thumbnail. So in this case in the thumbnail your plant looks overall reasonably and equally sharp, but on closer inspection it's done with a wide aperture giving shallow focus. Pleasing to some. but make sure there's a clear subject that's in focus. And make sure it looks that way in a thumbnail.

wim

• Like 3

What Wim said.

Alamy is looking for your first 3 test images to show that you can take an image that meets their technical requirements, including focusing. And your cactus photo at the distance you've photographed it is not really an image that you would ever normally be doing shallow depth of field for. Looks like you've picked some random point on it to be in focus. Pick 3 simple images for your test submission. You can submit shallow depth of field images afterwards - but use shallow dof where it's appropriate. Good luck!

• Like 1

I’ve found, when using shallow depth of field, the nearest part to the camera needs to be the sharpest part. It just doesn’t seem to work otherwise. People see an ugly blob in front of the sharp part that puts them off. This seems to hold true for small objects including plants.