Maximum number of keywords

WaSo

Question

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Alamy (just uploaded about 230 images) and have a question about the maximum number of keywords.

Officially, a maximum of 50 keywords per image can be assigned, but when I upload my images that are already tagged in Lightroom, there are often more than 50, but they are still always included.

How can that be?

The system doesn't seem to count the keywords that already exist.

However, I can't see any disadvantages from this.

Thanks for enlightening comments!

Regards,

WaSo

16 answers to this question

My guess would be that if you were to go an try and edit the keywords on one of these images in the Alamy Image Manager then it would suddenly flag the keyword count.

If you upload pre-keyworded images then I guess there will be code that strips the keywords out of the metadata and stores them directly into the backend database... and I would be guessing that this code doesn't count the keywords but simply forms a SQL insert statement(s) (SQL is the programming language most commonly used to talk to databases).

When you keyword via the Alamy Image Manager, some different (front end) code will run which likely does enforced the 50 keyword limit.

• Like 2

I see what you mean, Steve. Wildlife photos can easily go over 50 keywords without spamming but I see a lot of descriptions of the landscape in photos that are just close-ups of animals. Place is always important but if someone is looking for a deserted beach they won't want to be seeing animal close-ups.

Paulette

• Love 1
  • Like 1

First: thanks to all of you for your answers!
Although I checked it, I unfortunately didn't receive any email notifications about your replies, hence my late response - I'm so sorry!

I guess you're right, Matt Ashmore - and additionally: at a certain amount of keywords the system simply cuts it, even right in the middle of a word.

Thanks for your link, Steve F!