Controlling Sony WIFI from tablet

I am a complete beginner as far as clever phones and tablets are concerned. I possess a steam powered pay as you go mobile which is only switched on in emergencies etc. Tablet free zone too.

Sony have a so called App which is intended to allow a person to control the NEX 6 from a suitable phone. Does anyone know if a tablet would also be suitable and does it have to be a Sony product, or can say a Samsung tablet do the trick? What is the critical thing here, does it need special software/harware or what?

Bryan, I'm still trying to figure out how to work the wifi on my iPad mini . . . can I make calls or surf the Web on my NEX-6? 

Harware? Is that a town near the school where Harry Potter studied?  :)

Howhere the lads, as they say in these parts  :)

Thanks Callie - useful to know that you can combine bits of kit from different manufacturers, I live in hope!

Bryan can you control the Sony, or any Sony camera from an iPad? Is that the same thing as a tablet? And if so, does that mean you can see the image that you are taking a photo of on the iPad in real time? This is a subject for seniors and make no mistake. I have no clue at all.  :D

Don't answer any of this if you find its hurting your brain.  :D

Sonys with WiFi like the RX100MkII allow remote viewing, zoom for cameras with built-in zoom lenses, and release from iPad with some control of settings. You can't however zoom lenses fitted to interchangeable lens cameras even if they are powered zooms. Focus points can be seen.

Thanks for that David.Does it have to be an iPad or could I use say a Samsung tablet?

Gervais, I don't know the difference between an iPad and a tablet, maybe they are both tablets, its all very mysterious to me....

Bryan, I'm still trying to figure out how to work the wifi on my iPad mini . . . can I make calls or surf the Web on my NEX-6?