How does alamy QC determine whether a photo is "in focus"?

How does alamy QC determine if a photo os "in focus"? I'm somewhat new to making higher quality photos, however, I am familiar with photography in the general sense.  

I also know that a photographer can make a photo unique by putting the plane of focus through one object, or another in the same frame. (e.g. focusing the background or the immediate foreground instead of the main subject.) In my test submissions I have received failures for being "out-of-focus" when there is indeed an object in the plane of focus. How does the QC team know what I am trying to focus on in the photograph? 

If you are shooting a flower, but a leafy bush is in near background, the flower should be sharp, not the bush. Every image usually has a subject, other than landscapes where the whole image is the subject.

QC, when they look at an image, looks for the subject, not just something in the image that is in sharply in focus. If there I’d a child in the foreground eating an ice cream, but a bicycle is barely behind, they’ll look at the larger subject, the child, as the subject. So if the bicycle is in focus, they’ll usually fail it. 
Now, if the bicycle is more or less centered, the child incidentally off to the side and out of focus, they’ll most likely assume the bicycle is the subject, so that’s what should be in focus.

I’ve taken a few shots where my camera grabbed focus at the wrong place and I immediately bin those images. Often it will be a tiny bug I’m after and the leaf it’s on is sharp, but not the bug. Cameras on autofocus often seem to want to snap focus onto edges and that creates problems. That’s when you turn to manual focus or put your focus box, dot or whatever on your subject.