Live News - Adding Additional Photos, Best Practice?

DylanP

Question

Hi all,

I’m new to Alamy so apologies if this is a noob question. I did search the forum but could not find a similar topic to my question.

This weekend I will be covering a major event and submitting to Alamy for the first time. As this event will span the whole day and is a live news event, I’d prefer to get photos up ASAP (within an hour of taking them). 

The question I have is: I plan to upload batches of photos every few hours during the same day for what is technically the same event (major news story). Should I be changing my IPTC headline for each new “batch” so that it appears as a separate album on the live news feed, or just add it to the existing album via the same tags? What will give my photos the best chance of selling in that regard? Do newsdesks keep checking older galleries for new photos throughout the day/will any new photos being added to the same gallery “bump” it to the front?

Again, apologies if this is a stupid question. Just want to make sure that I am following best practice for getting my photos in front of the right people at the right time.

Thanks!

10 answers to this question

5 hours ago, LawrensonPhoto said:

If you upload say 15 images at 9am and then don't upload any more images for a couple of hours* and then start uploading again they will be treated as a separate upload

*Others who have been doing it far longer than me can maybe tell you how long exactly.

But alamy might batch them together for you as well if they spot them

Brilliant, thanks for the tip. I’ll experiment and see what works.

I have no experience in this - but if I was in the situation of needing to do it I think I would try to arrange it so that although the groups were treated as separate loads they would clearly link to each other - so the new load would go on the top of the page but indicate there were others that could then be searched for.