Hello everyone,

I'm new to Alamy, last year was my first year contributing here (but I've been contributing to other microstock sites for a while) so I'm not familiar with how Alamy reports taxes for the US residents. Can anyone help me figure it out? I can't find a link to anything on the website that resembles a tax center like other microstock sites have, where I can download my 1099. Do they get mailed to you? If yes, have you gotten yours yet? It's getting late in the tax season and I'm concerned that I haven't gotten mine yet.

Thanks in advance,

Svetlana

We don't get a 1099. I just add it up and give the sum to my accountant. I have other self-employment income as well as pension, etc. Alamy is just one source of photography income. Are your other sites in the US with taxes withheld?

Paulette

Hi all, Yes, I do know that they are a British company. But the US regulations are quite strict and the IRS requires transparency from businesses who work with American residents. It's a burden but most companies comply with it. My french bank has to report my account to the IRS... So I was under the assumption that Alamy would do the same. 

All the other sites I work with report my earnings on a 1099 which I then use for my taxes. Sounds like I'll just have to do the math. But now I know and that's what I needed.

Thanks everyone! 

I've been with Alamy many years and I don't ever recall receiving anything from them to document my proceeds.  I just add up the monthly deposits made to my account and note it on my Schedule C, where I report business income and expenses.  If the IRS were ever to ask for documentation I would show them the deposits on my monthly bank statements, but that has never happened.