Geological feature ID

M.Chapman

Any geologists out there?

I've uploaded some pictures of what I think is an exposed vertical volcanic rock dyke on Skye. This shows a general view.

fine-straight-vertical-volcanic-dyke-on- 

I also took some closeups of the unusual geometric fractured surface of the side of this rock band.

closeup-of-geometric-fractured-rock-surf

My is question is - Is there a technical term for this kind of fractured surface, or any other suggestions for my caption and keywords?

Thanks in advance.

Mark

I'm a former professional geologist (not sure if it was me that geogphotos was referring to as there is at least one more who occasionally frequents the forum). I've never been to Skye but it is famous geologically for its igneous rocks. That is definitely a dyke, almost certainly a basaltic dyke. The rock it is intruding looks to be a lot more silicic, possibly (probably) a very fine grained or glassy rhyolite (looking at the second image which I presume is a side view of the same rock). Glassy rocks like rhyolite break with a conchoidal fracture which is what this rock is exhibiting but I am not sure offhand how you would describe the entire surface. Check out the BGS (British Geological Survey) website as they were (and presumably still are) publishing online geological maps  so you can check the geology if you know exactly where you were. These rocks are relatively young (around 60 million years or so) for Scotland and have not undergone any deformation such as folding. All the igneous rocks of this age in Scotland and Northern Ireland (Giant's Causeway) are related to the opening (formation) of the North Atlantic Ocean.

Many thanks guys.