Just Alamy, or Alamy and Stockimo

Hi all,

I have just uploaded my first 4 images to Alamy, and am awaiting QC, so I'm very new to this.

I'd like to ask some of the experts on here a question.

If I take a photo for Alamy, and also use my phone to take the same (or similar) photo, is there any advantage, or disadvantage to uploading both photos to Alamy and Stockimo?

I imagine any buyer worth his/her salt will know about both Stockimo and Alamy, and would use that to find the cheapest version (assuming resolution/size wasn't paramount, which I am sure in some cases is the case) . . . I can't see much any logic in entering into a price-war with myself, no matter how trivial.

dd

I see your point, dd, about competing with myself on price. Maybe picture buyers would only look on Stockimo for low res images? If they wanted or needed a high res image they wouldn't look there.

I guess it's a question of whether to offer two versions, cheap and low res, or dear and high res. I suppose for popular subjects, picture buyers will only look at Stockimo type images if they only need low res, but for less well photographed subjects (or ones which can't be done with phones) like macro they would have to look at Alamy?

Thanks to you and Alex for the replies. You've provided some food for thought.

Hi Ian,

I wonder if the markets for Stockimo and "ordinary stock" are rather different, and also many "straightforward" stock images are simply rejected by Stockimo, so if I have an image that I think could do well on both I will submit it to both, though the Stockimo image may well be more manipulated

Kumar

I imagine any buyer worth his/her salt will know about both Stockimo and Alamy, and would use that to find the cheapest version (assuming resolution/size wasn't paramount, which I am sure in some cases is the case) . . . I can't see much any logic in entering into a price-war with myself, no matter how trivial.

dd