Hi guys, and gals, boy this stock photography is a tough gig.  I keep running head-first into brick walls, and had my butt kicked, so my learning curve has been huge and I still have a lot more to learn.

So I really take my hat off to those of you who have stuck it out.

I might be about to buy my second Sony A6000, depending on the Shutter count. So, thanks for the heads up on the Sony A6000. 

The Sigma 150-600 I have hired for a particular shoot that I plan to do and it is a great lens, if it wasn't so heavy it would be on the camera all the time. I do have some great images, now.

• Like 1

Philip, I am unsure what you are trying to achieve with your post.  The people on this forum and anyone who tries stock photography knows it is not easy and, generally, badly paid for the effort required.  To do well with stock photography means treating it as a job, the same as any other.  The learning curve never stops.  I have been photographing professionally for about ten years and with over 20, 000 photos on here and over a hundred thousand in my archives -  yet compared with many on here I would consider my skills to be mediocre.

There is much excellent advice on this forum on what and how to shoot.  I would suggest to you that you spend a little time reading carefully the advice given.  Stock photography is a numbers game with sales normally starting to occur with a portfolio in the thousands.  A marathon rather than a sprint.  

I wish you luck, but it is a long and difficult road ahead, and you are probably ten to fifteen years too late to the party and with AI on the horizon who knows?  On the upside, I have greatly enjoyed my photography and I suspect your best bet is to enjoy it rather than try to make a fortune.

• Like 6

Ian, it is more of a general discussion, and I appreciate that I am 10-15 years too late, and I am not going to make a fortune. Nor is it my goal to make a fortune. I would still be doing this, even knowing what I know now.