Can I indulge the group again about the slide scanning issue...

I'm new to Alamy and part of my eventual submission will be several hundred 35mm slide images, though they will have to be scanned/copied.  I've had a few scanned in the past and included a few in a recent submission.  At least one got QC'd out -- or all of them.   Don't know.  My non-scanned images have all gotten through QC. 

These slides were razor sharp and saturated to begin with, shot with Zeiss glass on Kodachrome 25 and Velvia, and the scans were presumably high res.  But grain (noise) is definitely apparent.  Hence, that is why, I believe, people seem to be opting for camera-based copying vs. scans.   So my questions are:

1) Is there now an accepted or more commonly-used slide copying device or product that can be used across camera lines? (I have Sony mirrorless)

2) Are there companies that have been able to produce 35mm slide scans that will meet Alamy QC predictably?

3) Are there companies that can do the camera-based copying that people are talking about?    I'd rather have someone do it, frankly.

Thanks for all responses.

There is a lot about scanning and copying on the forum- try searching for it- but IMO the answer is no, to all three. The amount I, for one, would want to charge for scanning would make it unviable for the returns here and the discussion here has been about DIY.

If they are of some historical interest, rather than just old, you can apply for archival privileges and bypass QC. My archival collection does substantially outperform my main one. But it is very small, and of course I scanned them myself..

Edited by spacecadet
  • Like 1

19 hours ago, Millvale1 said:

1) Is there now an accepted or more commonly-used slide copying device or product that can be used across camera lines? (I have Sony mirrorless)

2) Are there companies that have been able to produce 35mm slide scans that will meet Alamy QC predictably?