Categorising Landscape Images in Image manager

MalcolmT

Question

Hi all

I am relatively new to Almy and in the process of uploading my images which mainly consist of wildlife and landscapes. I noticed that there is no actual category for Landscape images, so would like to understand where such images are categorised by others on here  - any pointers would be greatly appreciated thanks 

Malcolm

18 answers to this question

39 minutes ago, MalcolmT said:

Hi all

I am relatively new to Almy and in the process of uploading my images which mainly consist of wildlife and landscapes. I noticed that there is no actual category for Landscape images, so would like to understand where such images are categorised by others on here  - any pointers would be greatly appreciated thanks 

Malcolm

Hi Malcolm,

In Alamy Image Manager, go to the optional tab once you have selected an image. There is a 'primary' and 'secondary' category. 'Landscape' is one of the options given from the dropdown. I must say I find it hard to select categories for a lot of my photos. Anything where I'm out and about in touristy areas goes under 'travel'. I photograph a lot of townscapes too - I sometimes put these under 'landscape' because there's nothing more appropriate. Good luck working out what photos count as 'lifestyle' :)

Steve

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Harry Harrison said:

Yes, there is a 'Landscapes' category and so you might find your landscape images easy to categorise, many images are not so easy and although Alamy encourage you to fill them in they have never given any guidance, nor explained how they are used to help people find your images, if they are used that is. 

I seem to remember a while back that in one of the Alamy blogs they asked people to fill in at least the primary category as a lot of their third party distributors use that field to place images into the appropriate category on their website.