Timelapses: Hyper zoom tutorial

The more commonly used term for this kind of footage seems to be hyper-lapse. Hyperzoom seems to be a refinement of this generic technique which Geoff Tompkison has trademarked.  I haven't gone into it in detail and I'm not a lawyer, but I guess if we stick to hyperlapse there is less likely to be an issue.

4 hours ago, Joseph Clemson said:

The more commonly used term for this kind of footage seems to be hyper-lapse. Hyperzoom seems to be a refinement of this generic technique which Geoff Tompkison has trademarked.  I haven't gone into it in detail and I'm not a lawyer, but I guess if we stick to hyperlapse there is less likely to be an issue.

Thank you Joseph,
for hyper lapse we generally mean a time lapse where the point of view is moving, either walking, or from a car, bus, boat, cable car and so on.
In this case the POV is static, but the zoom is performed using different focal lens. We generally call it hyper zoom, or sometimes super zoom

Adding the letters 'TM' after a word doesn't seem to make the term legally protected. The word would need to be fully registered with the appropriate body and then the letter 'R' in a circle can be used. There would also be a legal difference to the terms 'hyperzoom', 'hyper-zoom' and 'hyper zoom'. More info here:

https://www.lawtrades.com/blog/answers/intellectual-property-differences/#

18 minutes ago, AndrewP said:

Adding the letters 'TM' after a word doesn't seem to make the term legally protected. The word would need to be fully registered with the appropriate body and then the letter 'R' in a circle can be used. There would also be a legal difference to the terms 'hyperzoom', 'hyper-zoom' and 'hyper zoom'. More info here: