Sony A6000 vs NEX-6

A couple of questions for Sony users. I've been using the 16MP Sony NEX-6 for almost five years now and have generally been very happy with this camera. The opportunity to buy a used A6000 in pristine condition from a local camera store (with 30 day warranty) has come up, and I'm thinking of selling my NEX-6 (also in terrific shape) and getting the A6000. How much of an upgrade is the A6000? Do the extra 8MP make a big difference?

This reviewer, whose reviews I often agree with, seems to think that the a6000 is significantly better than the NEX-6 in most respects.

Very happy with the a6500 John, the extra pixels are useful and there does not appear to be a noise penalty. I assume the sensors in the 6000 and 6500 are similar. The battery is identical to that used in the NEX 6, so no need to buy new spares.

The electronic viewfinder is also an improvement, excellent for manual focus. One slight drawback, the contrast detect feature appears more sensitive, even at the minimum setting, so you occasionally get a swathe of orange across the image, making composition more difficult. I've programmed a button to switch it off, but, in practice, rarely do so.

My limited experience of auto focus is not so good, but that may be down to my lack of understanding as to how to get the best from it. I recently took a photo of the Mrs in a restaurant, and the face recognition feature  appeared to have worked, but the focus  was way off.  The camera probably detects the presence of a Luddite and reacts accordingly......

1 hour ago, Bryan said:

Very happy with the a6500 John, the extra pixels are useful and there does not appear to be a noise penalty. I assume the sensors in the 6000 and 6500 are similar. The battery is identical to that used in the NEX 6, so no need to buy new spares.