I'm new to LR4, and have been studying online tutorials.  So far only absorbing a bit of what I see/read, and go back over it again. Thinking about getting Kelby's book on it.

After testing my new Sony RX100 today, this was the first time I imported directly into LR.  Before I created a folder on my iMac desktop and imported into it.  Then once the import was finished, I right clicked on the icon and ejected the card from my card reader.

I couldn't find a place to eject the card in LR.  So I closed LR out and went to my desktop, there was no icon there to eject from either.  With trepidation, I removed my card from my card reader, but there has to be a good reason for the warning not to do this, right?

Is there a place in LR4 to eject, and I'm just not seeing it?

Betty

Sorry, I can't answer your question as I don't import direct into LR and I always eject the card from the desk top. However, I can highly recommend Kelby's book on LR4, I refer to it constantly.

I'm sure someone around here will be able to answer your question.

All the best.

I'll take a shot at this and say it is on the Import page -- I think bottom right. I seem to remember something you can check to have Lightroom eject your card after importing. Maybe you had it checked and that's why you saw no icon on the desktop. I'm on a Mac and i can go to the Finder to see that the card reader is connected. I eject there rather than having Lightroom do it. The Kelby book is great. Martin Evening's book goes into more detail and can be easier to look up specific things.

Paulette

Thank you!  I am familiar with Kelby books from my very first PS.  Saved my life. Since I'm used to his style, I think I'll go with that.

I'll check out the import page and see if I can find what you are talking about, Paulette. :)