Nikon DF officially announced>>>this or Sony A7?

I just read the announcement for the new Nikon Df full frame camera.

Though quite expensive...$2700 for the body only, you will be able to use any Nikon lens going back to 1959.

http://petapixel.com/2013/11/04/nikon-officially-unleashes-df-f-series-slr-styling-d4-power-inside/

It has the same sensor as the D4  and processor of the D800 so I'm sure the quality will be amazing. I was actually considering the Sony A7 but their lack of lenses for that format has turned me off to the system at this time. Also,it seems like they have to many formats and lens mounts. I'd be really peeved after a big investment that they'd retire the line if it was not a big seller.

I'm looking forward to the reviews and images from the Nikon Df. Anyone considering?

My last experiences with Nikon were not good. I no longer buy the first run of any electronics.

Oil spots,focus issues,etc..

L

I've been buying cameras for professional use for 35 years. Prices have never scared me off! I've jumped in too soon though and ended up with cameras that have problems that were not discovered for awhile.That is why I plan on waiting.Second reason is come winter,for me,events die down and I don't like the cold to go out and take pictures so it's not worth it to invest a system that I won't be able to put thru the paces until spring.Unless of course I get some jobs on the west coast again.

L

As all the existing professional Nikon full frame cameras will also use any lens back to 1959 in exactly the same way, putting this out as a special feature of the DF is just PR spin. The camera actually works almost exactly like a D600 with a D4 sensor, and some funky retro controls added for an alternative user interface (it retains the original interface as well but it's missing the front control wheel).