I know this'll be easy-peasy for some of you!

I have a couple of Lavender shots which I'm trying to confirm IDs for.  The first one - 2BK0BX4 - I have down as Lavandula stoechas 'Papillon'. Hopefully, that's correct? That's the label that was with these at the garden centre at the time - though I know that they're not infallible!

Lavender,  Lavandula stoechas Papillon Stock Photo

I'm not sure of the second - 2BK0BX8.  Is this the same?

Lavender Stock Photo

Sorry, but I've looked at guides and am absolutely useless at this.  They look different to me, but then that counts for next to zero!

Both taken in the same UK garden centre - and only got the label for the first - so could be anything! Any and all help most appreciated. :)

Edited by losdemas
Added image Ids

Both are French lavender so you're right on that.  It now gets complicated and I'm no expert on lavenders.  My soil and damp climate doesn't suit them and even pot grown plants don't last  long.

Is #1 'Papillon'?  I'm not so sure.  'Papillon' usually has bracts longer than the body of the flower head.  Here's the one I grew:

Flowers of French lavender, Lavandula pedunculata ssp pedunculata 'Papillion' Stock Photo

'Papillon' is a variety of Lavandula pedunculata ssp pedunculata, while your two look like different varieties of Lavandula stoechas.  The problem is that there are a number of different varieties which all look fairly similar so I can't really tell which ones they are.  

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.

No, that's great, John, thank you. I did find a site mentioning Lavandula pedunculata ssp pedunculata, which looked a tad different, so I wasn't too sure.  Unless I can get any more info to confirm otherwise, I've added French lavender as a tag for both and dropped Papillon as being too uncertain.

Thanks again!