Free Aurora HDR 2018 with Digital Camera Magazine - Feb 2019

Purchasers of Feb 2019 Edition Digital Camera Magazine (UK) can download a free and fully functioning copy of Aurora HDR 2018 from skylum.com.

It's not the latest version and you will need to supply a working email address to receive a licence key. But other than that it seems pretty useful to me (I just downloaded and installed a copy).

I note that various internet sites also appear to be offering it as a free download, but I can't comment on their legitimacy.

Mark

I was thinking of downloading that free program via DCM offer.

Will you let us know your thoughts after using it for a while please.

Allan

4 hours ago, Allan Bell said:

I was thinking of downloading that free program via DCM offer.

Will you let us know your thoughts after using it for a while please.

Allan

I like it so far. But I'm not an HDR expert. I was just after something that allowed me to combine several exposures of high contrast scenes to get a good rendering of shadows highlight without looking too over-processed. I've dabbled with both PS and LR HDR functions and struggled a bit. Aurora seems easier (to my inexperienced HDR self). I might be using it some more soon, once I've sorted out my improved slide copying workflow as I've got quite a few very high contrast Velvia slides that I suspect will need a couple of exposures to be combined to get the best from them.

Mark

Aurora is excellent. Its worth having a play with setting up a variety of non-HDR look blends for realistic blending of multi-exposures. Its also great for single images too, have a go. It really digs out detail and dynamic range and, as long as you stay away from the ghastly acid-trip presets, can really lift an image. It might do justice to a contrasty Velvia slide without multiple exposures.  I bought into Aurora when it came out and use it often. For free there is no reason to not have it in your toolbox.

7 hours ago, Colin Woods said: