Anyone here using illustrator? I've downloaded a 7 day free trial, but in spite of watching videos, I'm lost.

Is this a program one needs to take classes in? Anyone self taught?

Maybe there are books, like Adobe Illustrator for Dummies.

Betty

I have tried to tackle Illustrator, but it has a very steep learning curve. I think online classes would be good,   The free trial isn't long enough to grasp the software.  Maybe start with one that isn't as complex so when you start on Illustrator you have some base knowledge.  I actually have an older Corel Draw and still haven't got around to learning that.  Took me long enough to "master" PS and Premiere.  Not enough time to invest in another piece of difficult software.

You could check out the Illustrator free classes at Adobe CreativeLive

Might help.  I have watched a lot of their PS and ACR classes when they used to have PhotoShop week.  Don't think they have it anymore.

Jill

Thanks for the link, Jill.

Yes, I can see that it is a very difficult program. Yet it appeals to me because of the creative aspect.

I'll cram the videos in the next week and play with it. I agree with you 7 days isn't long enough. I know I won't learn it in that short time, but I might get an idea whether I think I can learn it eventually. I remember when I got my first Photoshop I felt much like I do with Illustrator.

I bought a book that got me started with basics. White balance, Exposure adjustments, and a couple of other things that got me rolling.

Over time, I learned the more difficult stuff.

I may go to Barnes & Noble tomorrow and peruse a how-to book. I'm much better at learning from books than videos. They go too fast for me to absorb it. I learn by doing..need the program open in front of me while I apply a step from the book.

I'd like to know how well vectors sell here and if it is even worth my while.