Upload Process - a newbie Q

Hi, folks

Please forgive me if this is answered in the FAQ or elsewhere in the forum but searching it for 'upload' and reading the returned articles didn't answer my question.

I'm a travel photographer and interested in uploading some images from my recent trip to India as a test submission.  I uploaded a few images using FTP and then visited 'My Alamy' as suggested by the documentation, but I do not see the images in 'Manage my photos'.  The images have disappeared from the Stock folder on the ftpd also.  So I tried to submit those images through the Flash based web upload tool.  The tool suggested the upload is complete but the images are not there.

What I'm expecting to happen at this point is that I will look at the images online to make sure that the upload was correct and in line with my intentions, and to tag the images with keywords and then bundle them together for a QC inspection.  Clearly this isn't how I prepare a submission for QC but I can't work out what I should do instead.

If anyone can help, I'd appreciate.  Great looking service, can't wait to iron out my early mistakes and join in this community.

All the best,

Andy

Hi Andy,

Welcome to Alamy and the forums.

You've got the process a bit mixed up. The process is this:

1. Upload photos via FTP or web upload. You won't be able to see them in the FTP stock folder after upload. Your FTP client or the Alamy web interface will tell you if the upload has been successful.

2. Check that they have been received by Alamy on the Track Submissions page - they generally appear within minutes but FTP sometimes can be a little later. Certainly no later than overnight. 

3. Wait for QC approval - you can see this in Track Submissions or you can wait for the email that is sent. 

If approved...

4. Caption and keyword images.

5. The next day they go online.

6. Await your first sale :-)

Good luck with your first submission!