Hi, I am new to Alamy and confused by the following matter:

My photographs are mostly cityscapes, which frequently include people. However, in many cases those people are perfectly unrecognizable and I used to submit such images to microstocks as Royalty Free, providing they do not show any copyrighted content, etc. I have an archive of such images with already remowed signage, etc.

When attributing such images I must specify "how many people are in this image" and the according explanation, which pops up if clicking the "people" link looks to be extremely strict and states that one should count unrecognizable people as well, which in turn makes RF licensing to be impossible. It looks as if one cannot offer even an aerial view on a city as RF image.

Is this vision correct?

A confusing factor: I made a search for cityscapes with "RF" criteria + "0 people" filter and got plenty of results contradicting to this vision.

Are there any suggestions?

Welcome. The way it works (for me) is that if there are any people in the image, even seen as dots in an aerial or distant view, then a model release is required and without it the image becomes RM. This is different to micro stock libraries as I understand it. From the cityscape search you describe I imagine some contributors are content to say that there are no people (identifiable?) in the image. Personally I prefer to supply RM so it doesn't become an issue. 

Personally I treat everything as RM unless I am certain that it is not an issue. Even then I have been caught out with images of National Trust properties and cars and pets. That said I have not seen a difference in prices of my RF images compared to my RM but that may be because my RF images are not commercial!

Good luck - it gets easier as it goes on.

dov