Hello

I resized JPG images to over 24Mb as required but now cannot upload because it system say it exceeds upload size ? I uploaded the normal files around 7 - 10mb each and now they will most likely fail QC. Your guidelines say it must be over 24mb but your system will not allow me to upload such a big file.

Am I doing something wrong ? This is my first time submitting images.

Hello Philo122

It sounds like you are mistaking compressed JPEG size for uncompressed size. The uncompressed size (ie the size the file is when you have opened it in photoshop or similar ) must be over 24MB, which means the compressed size ( the size the file takes up on disc) is usually 2-5 MB.

You seem to have been trying to send Alamy 25MB compressed files which are too large.

Read Alamy s' guidelines on file size which are stuck to the top of this section of the forum - they are very clear on this

Cheers

Kumar Sriskandan

Thanks Kumar

Any ideas on how I can calculate what the actual uncompressed size is ? I export with lightroom, but it does not give any info on the images uncompressed size.

Apologies if all this has been asked before but I tried to do a forum search and cannot seem to access old topics.

Cheers

P.

Hi Philo122

I tend to use Lightroom to do the RAW conversion and then transfer to Photoshop for final adjustments and saving; but in Lightroom you should be able to discover the actual file size in the Metadata section in Library when you open the image. 

For comparison I use a Canon 5D Mk2 which produces images which are 5616x3744 pixels in size, which equates to an uncompressed file of 60.2 MB, but the final JPEG files uploaded are much smaller than that

Kumar sriskandan

I may be missing something, as I use Photoshop, like Doc, to get uncompressed image sizes. But Lightroom doesn't seem to have a readout anywhere for the uncompressed image size in MB. However, in View - View Options, there are a few workarounds: