complete newbie here hello one and all

HRHHALES

First of all, don't worry about getting 50 keywords, search for 'discoveability' on the forum to find why it isn't important.

Then describe the subject  as fully as possible without including words which will bring the photo up in searches incorrectly, but including any words which someone looking for a picture like yours might use. For example:

Image  2H01WWG - make sure the caption fully describes 'Red Squirrel (Sciurus vulgaris) eating (what?) on Brownsea Island in Dorset'

Sciurus vulgaris (latin names always useful, but make sure they are correct), Eurasian red squirrel, tree, woodland, British, wildlife, (location, but only if the location is significant to that subject), mossy, animal.

You might also include emotional words such as cute if the picture truly warrants it.

Implied concepts might be included, but make sure you are accurate, eg. endangered (though the red squirrel is officially 'near threatened' in England).

Check that you are allowed to sell/licence pictures you take at a given location for commercial gain. I note that Brownsea Island has paid admittance, check that there are no restrictions on photo sales in the terms and conditions of entry. The National Trust can be particularly troublesome in this respect, though you are feee to use images take from public highways and public footpaths.

Thoroughly research every picture you upload on the internet, Captioning and keywording should be one of the most time-consuming parts of your workflow, if you are doing it properly.

• Like 1

Hi Hayley, and welcome from another Hampshire contributor.