Regional pics

MemphisJim

I have been a photographer all my life, using various cameras. Right now, I shoot with a Nikon D90 with either an 18-200 or 28-300 zoom lens. For my paid work of shooting properties for inspection clients, I use the 18-200 as it gets wide enough and usually goes deep enough for most shots the clients need. But for shooting around my wife's garden I usually have to use the 28-300 to get close enough to catch a butterfly on a flower, or birds at the feeder. Getting into stock shooting, still and video I am also using a D7000, which is a full frame camera. Truly I have not discovered the difference between crop frame and full frame, so if someone would be kind enough to show me what to look for, I would much appreciate it. I still wonder what kind of picture sells better than another, and why. 

Hi Jim,

Welcome! Crop sensor - I'm sure you've seen that the sensors are physically a different size. All it affects is the focal length (or angle of view) of a lens. So an APS-C (not full frame) 'crop' sensor may have e.g.  a 1.5x multiplier compared to a full frame sensor. If you then attached a 50mm f/1.4 lens to a APS-C camera, the focal length is multiplied by 1.5x and effectively acts like a 75mm lens on a full frame DSLR. So there's no difference other than the angle of view.

Otherwise said, if you had a 50mm lens on an APS-C camera and an approx. 75mm lens on a full frame camera, the picture would look about the same. We're only talking about angle of view or focal length. So this will make absolutely no difference for selling the picture. If you use a zoom lens, you can achieve the same 'effect' anyway.