Moin from Hamburg Germany!

Jan Juerges

I joined ALAMY at the end of 21, but just started uploading in the last weeks. I am a graphic designer, photographer and film dude from Hamburg. I do photography now for about 20 years, mostly commissioned work, and i just wanted to see, if stock would be something for me... yes, i know, i should have started uploading 15 years ago....I do have a tiny portfolio on Adobe Stock also (50 images haha), but i have 1 image there that sold once a week for already 2 years now. Probably just luck, but i thought if i would have 100 of those, things could get interesting :) 

it got accepted here as well: https://www.alamy.com/seagulls-flying-in-front-of-the-elbphilharmonie-in-hamburg-harbour-image524448567.html?imageid=9E6B3CE7-A520-4D09-A1B7-42521B78542B&p=1825290&pn=1&searchId=0149d6a657ae490de7f72451d3f7b1e3&searchtype=12

As i learned from reading in this forum here for the last two weeks and also having a look at the "what sold" thread, editorial images seem to go quite well?

Anyway, glad to be here and looking forward to some nice discussions!

Enjoy the week!

Jan

• Thanks 1

Gruess di Gott Jan!

Yes, Alamy is primarily an editorial agency.

Stock isn't going to compare to commissioned work in terms of money. It can be a regular income stream, but you'd need to put a lot of work in and have thousands of images. Have a look through this thread:

https://discussion.alamy.com/topic/16286-2022/page/2/

Just for information, Alamy is not a fan of mentioning other stock agencies.

Indeed, if we'd all started uploading at the birth of stock, we'd be considerably richer!

Viel Spass,

Stephen

1 hour ago, Michael Ventura said:

Very nice images Jan, now just need to upload thousands more and you could see regular sales but even then, it may be only enough to buy a small piece of camera gear you've always wanted.  Good luck to you!